Elections by Year


2021 City of Burlington Primary Election

October 5, 2021

Primary Election
The Primary Election is an election to determine which candidates will qualify for the General Election for a given party. In Iowa you must be a member of the political party of which you wish to vote for in order to participate. This is known as a "closed primary." The primary election is held on the 1st Tuesday following the 1st Monday in June of each even-numbered year.

Election Results

0/9 Precincts Counted

Archived Election Details

The City of Burlington will hold a Primary Election on Tuesday, October 5, 2021 The polls will be open from 7:00A.M. until 8:00 P.M. This election will narrow the seven candidates for Burlington City Council down to six candidates to fill three seats in the City/School Election in November.



Notice is hereby given that a City Primary Election in and for the City of Burlington in the County of Des Moines, State of Iowa will be held on Tuesday, October 5, 2021. 


The purpose of this election is to vote for three (3) four-year term candidates.  The six (6) candidates receiving the greater number of votes will be eligible for the City General Election to elect three (3) council members.


The polls will be open from 7:00 A.M. until 8:00 P.M.


City of Burlington polling places:

Pct 1                 Oak Street Baptist Church (south entrance), 1303 Oak St.

Pct 2                 Autumn Heights, 2830 Winegard Dr.

Pct 3                 Oak Street Baptist Church (south entrance), 1303 Oak St

Pct 4                 St John’s Church Hall, 700 Division St

Pct 5                 First Church of the Nazarene, 1015 S. Roosevelt Ave.

Pct 6                 St John’s Church Hall, 700 Division St

Pct 7                 James Madison Educational Center, 2132 Madison Ave.

Pct 8                 Bethany Lutheran Church, (west entrance) 2515 Madison Ave

Pct 9                 Messiah Lutheran Church, 2411 West Ave        


           The list of candidates for the City of Burlington Primary Election ballot are in this order:




(Vote for no more than three)


Terry A Schnack

Jon D Billups

Lynda Graham-Murray

Antonio Bailey

Christopher Roepke

Matthew Rinker

Jeffrey A Knotts


              Pre-registered voters are required to provide an approved form of identification at the polling place before receiving and casting a regular ballot. Voters who are not pre-registered, such as voters registering to vote on Election Day and voters changing precincts, must also provide proof of residence.  A voter who is unable to provide an approved form of identification or prove residence if required:  1) may have voter’s identity/residence attested to by another registered voter in the precinct, 2) prove identity and residence using Election Day Registration documents, or 3) cast a provisional ballot and provide proof of identity/residence at the County Auditor’s office by October 6th. Election Day Registrant attesters must provide an approved form of identification. For additional information about providing proof of identity and/or residence visit:  https://sos.iowa.gov/voterid  or phone 319-753-8232.


Voter pre-registration deadline and vote by mail request deadline is September 20th at 5:00 PM at the Des Moines County Auditor’s Office.  Absentee ballots voted in-person are available in the County Auditor’s office during regular business hours until October 4th at 5:00 PM.


Any voter who is physically unable to enter a polling place has the right to vote in their vehicle.  For further information, please contact the county auditor’s office at the telephone number or email address below.

Telephone: (319) 753-8232         Email: johnsont@dmcounty.com       For TTY access, dial 711+753-8232




Public testing of the Des Moines County voting equipment will begin on September 29th at 9:00 AM in the Public Meeting Room on the 2nd Floor at the Des Moines County Courthouse, according to the provisions of 52.35. The public is invited to attend.


Signed and dated this 8th day of September 2021.

Terri Johnson

Des Moines County Auditor/Commissioner of Elections


Sample Ballots (PDF)

This webpage was printed on October 16, 2021. For the most current election-related information, visit the Des Moines County, Iowa, Elections website at https://dmcountyelections.iowa.gov/.
powered by Neapolitan Labs